Musetti and Atp 500: the last in Hamburg and Alcaraz is the youngest

Hamburg’s victory over Alcaraz establishes the supremacy of the group born in 2009 and is the ultimate since 2005: Bastad was crushed between Nadal and Berdych. But Lorenzo’s writings do not finish there…

Luca Mariantoni

With character, dedication and nice braveness, Lorenzo Musetti gained the first title of his profession yesterday in Hamburg by beating the prime 10 Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz, quantity 6 in the world, in the ultimate he achieves 8 (or prime 7). together with Djokovic) at the Turin ATP Finals. A ultimate that deserves to go down in historical past: it was the longest ultimate in the historical past of the ATP 500 (a class born in 2009) and the last since 2005 when nineteen-year-olds Rafael Nadal and Tomas Berdych performed in the ultimate in Bastad. Carlos Alcaraz, who is 19 years and 2 months outdated, and Lorenzo Musetti, who is 20 years and 4 months outdated, are each making ready for a vivid future that is proven by spectacular numbers.


The Spaniard is the eighth youngest participant to enter the prime 5 after Michael Chang (17 years and 5 months in 1989), Boris Becker (17 years and 10 months in 1985), Andre Agassi (18 years and 2 months in 1988) , Bjorn Borg (18 years and 3 months in 1974), Mats Wilander (18 years and 7 months in 1983), Rafael Nadal (18 years and 11 months in 2005) and Pete Sampras (19 years and 1 month in 1990). All the aforementioned gamers have gained extra Slam tournaments: Chang one, Becker seven, Wilander seven, Agassi eight, Borg eleven, Sampras fourteen and Nadal twenty two.


Blue, on the different hand, turned the third last blue in the Open period to win an ATP match after Jannik Sinner, who was 19 years and two months outdated when Sofia 2020 gained, and Claudio Pistolesi, who was 19 years and 7. months outdated. born when he gained Bari 1987. But Musetti is additionally the second youngest Italian to win the ATP 500 after Jannik Sinner who on 8 August 2021 (Roger Federer’s fortieth birthday) gained in Washington. And once more: Lorenzo Musetti is the youngest Italian to win the prime 10 on the ATP. The earlier report belonged to Omar Camporese who in 1991, at the age of twenty-two years and 8 months, defeated Ivan Lendl (n° 3 in the world) in the finish of Rotterdam. The youngest Italian to hit the prime 10 was Jannik Sinner who in February 2020 beat David Goffin (10) in Rotterdam at the age of 18 years and 6 months. Lorenzo Musetti’s golden numbers, and Italian tennis passing by means of time particular, it does not finish right here. Here are another information damaged by the younger blues after the thrilling win in Hamburg.


The ATP titles have been gained by the Italians. From 1971 to 2006 (in 35 years) the Azzurri gained 47 ATP matches, from 2011 to 2022 (the last 11 years) the Azzurri gained 31 titles. From 2011 onwards, the Italians scored in each season besides 2015.


The Azzurri gained in the Open Era. This, going again, is an inventory of the first occasions of the last 10 Italian champions: Filippo Volandri (St. Polten 2004), Daniele Bracciali (Casablanca 2006), Andreas Seppi (Eastbourne 2011), Fabio Fognini (Stuttgart 2013) , Paolo Lorenzi ( Kitzbuhel 2016), Marco Cecchinato (Budapest 2018), Matteo Berrettini (Gstaad 2018), Lorenzo Sonego (Antalya 2019), Jannik Sinner (Sofia 2020) and Lorenzo Musetti (Hamburg 2022).


Italian winners in Hamburg: Nicola Pietrangeli (1960), Paolo Bertolucci (1977), Fabio Fognini (2013) and Lorenzo Musetti (2022). Until 2008, the Hamburg race was one in all the world’s most prestigious races, together with Rome, Monte Carlo and Paris. Then, to get a spot in the Masters 1000 in Madrid, he was demoted and diminished from the Master 1000 to the 500.


Lorenzo Musetti positioned ATP on this morning’s listing. The three Italians beneath the age of 21 to achieve the thirty first place have been Jannik Sinner (19 years and 7 months), Lorenzo Musetti (20 years and 4 months) and Andrea Gaudenzi (20 years and 10 months).


The Italians who can win the ATP title by beating them in the last 10. Only Adriano Panatta (2 occasions, in Stockholm 1975 towards Connors and in Rome 1976 towards Vilas), Corrado Barazzutti (twice, in Charlotte 1977 towards Dibbs and in Paris) succeeded – at residence 1977 towards Gottfried), Paolo Bertolucci (as soon as, in Hamburg 1977 towards Orantes), Omar Camporese (as soon as, in Rotterdam 1991 towards Lendl), Renzo Furlan (as soon as, in San Josì 1994 towards Chang), Fabio Fognini. (as soon as, at Los Cabos 2018 towards Del Potro) and Lorenzo Musetti (as soon as).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.