How It Works And How To See It

Traffic descends on Mulsanne Straight in 2017 24 Hours of Le Mans

Traffic descends on Mulsanne Straight in 2017 24 Hours of Le Mans
picture: Dean Treml / Red Bull (Getty Images)

This weekend we begin the 90th 24 Hours of Le Mans race, the most prestigious car race in the world. Whether you are new to the World Endurance Championship, you have not followed all the details in preparing for the competition, or you are a big fan who just needs to be refreshed, we have come to help you follow the event.

What Are Le Mans 24 Hours?

The 24-hour Le Mans is a endurance event in which the winner is given a car ride which completes a major missile in 24 hours. The race started on public roads in Le Mans, France in 1923, and the long-awaited respite from World War II, has continued ever since.

Along with the Indianapolis 500 and the Monaco Grand Prix (or Formula 1 World Championship; whatever you want), Le Mans’ 24 Hour is part of the Triple Crown race, which showcases the success of various types of vehicles. To win at Le Mans, you don’t have to have a car that can compete for 24 hours, but you have to interact with your teammates and learn to compete as a team.

The race has also been an important testament to motor skills in the face of endurance.

Japan's Ryo Hirakawa runs the Toyota GR010 Hybrid Hypercar WEC in the second free 90th edition of the Le Mans 24 Hours endurance race, June 8, 2022.

Japan’s Ryo Hirakawa runs the Toyota GR010 Hybrid Hypercar WEC in the second free 90th edition of the Le Mans 24 Hours endurance race, June 8, 2022.
picture: JEAN-FRANCOIS MONIER / AFP (Getty Images)

Appearance of Le Mans Classes

If you are new to endurance competitions, the form goes like this: There are several groups of cars competing on the board at the same time. While every car will be given a place at the end to determine the winner, each class will also fight for responsibility within a small segment of vehicles.

For 2022, Le Mans classes are as follows:

  • Hypercar (5 vehicles): High-end vehicles with cars expected to win the race, Hypercars and prototypes used to launch high-end engineering.
  • LMP2 (27 vehicles): LMP2 is a small component of the race, consisting of vehicles built by one of four different manufacturers and one support engine. This means that it is actually a real machine with Gibson V8 engines.
  • GTE Pro (7 cars): All GTE classes compete on race-ready cars that are very similar to the ones you can find on the roads. GTE Pro competes with the latest technology and more experienced operators.
  • GTE AM (23 cars): GTE AM uses slightly older cars than GTE Pro, and the list of drivers often has “new” drivers who may not have as much experience as Pro drivers.

2022 24 Hours of Le Mans Starting Line and Class


  1. Pa. 7 Toyota Gazoo Racing: M. Conway, K. Kobayashi, J. Lopez
  2. Pa. 708 Glickenhaus Racing: O. Pla, R. Dumas, L. Derani
  3. Pa. 709 Glickenhaus Competition: R. Briscoe, R. Westbrook, F. Mailleux
  4. Pa. Group 36 Alpine ELF: A. Negrao, N. Lapierre, M. Vaxiviere
  5. Pa. 8 Toyota Gazoo Racing: S. Buemi, B. Hartley, R. Hirakawa


  1. Pa. 31 WRT: S. Gelael, R. Frijns, R. Rast
  2. Pa. 38 Heat: R. Gonzalez, A. da Costa, W. Stevens
  3. Pa. 41 Realteam by WRT: R. Andrade, F. Habsburg, N. Nato
  4. Pa. 23 United Autosports: A. Lynn, O. Jarvis, J. Pierson
  5. Pa. 22 United Autosports: P. Hanson, F. Albuquerque, W. Owen
  6. Pa. Group 9 Prema Orlen: R. Kubica, L. Deletraz, L. Colombo
  7. Pa. 1 Richard Mille Racing: L. Wadoux, S. Ogier, C. Milesi
  8. Pa. 65 Panis Racing: J. Canal, N. Jamin, J. Van Uitert
  9. Pa. 5 Team Penske: D. Cameron, E. Collard, F. Nasr
  10. Pa. 32 Team WRT: R. Ineichen, M. Bortolotti, D. Vanthoor
  11. Pa. 11 Duqueine Group: R. Bradley, G. Rojas, R. de Gerus
  12. Pa. 37 Cold Competition: Y. Ye, R. Taylor, N. Kruetten
  13. Pa. 28 Jota: O. Rasmussen, E. Jones, J. Aberdein
  14. Pa. 48 IDEC Sport: P. Lafargue, P. Chatin, P. Pilet
  15. Pa. 34 Inter Europol Competition: J. Smiechowski, A. Brundle, E. Gutierrez
  16. Pa. 24 Nielsen Racing: R. Sales, M. Bell, B. Hanley
  17. Pa. 35 Last: J. Lahaye, M. Lahaye, F. Heriau
  18. Pa. 44 ARC Bratislava: M. Konopka, B. Viscaal, T. Vautier
  19. Pa. 39 Graff Competition: E. Trouillet, S. Page, D. Droux
  20. Pa. 3 DKR Engineering: L. Horr, J. Glorieux, A. Cougnaud
  21. Pa. 47: Algarve Pro Racing: S. Florersch, J. Falb, J. Aitken
  22. Pa. 83 AF Corse: F. Perrodo, N. Nielsen, A. Rovera
  23. Pa. 27 CD Sport: C. Cresp, M. Jensen, S. Palette
  24. Pa. 43 Inter Europol Competition: D. Heinemeier-Hansson, F. Sherer, P. Fittipaldi
  25. Pa. 10 Vector Sport: N. Müller, R. Cullen, S. Bourdais
  26. Pa. 13 TDS Racing x Valliante: P. Cimadomo, M. Beche, T. van der Helm
  27. Pa. 45 Algarve Pro Racing: S. Thomas, J. Allen, R. Binder

GTE Pro:

  1. Pa. 92 Porsche GT Team: M. Christensen, K. Estre, L. Vanthoor
  2. Pa. 63 Corvette Racing: A. Garcia, J. Taylor, N. Catsburg
  3. Pa. 91 Porsche GT Team: G. Bruni, R. Lietz, F. Makowiecki
  4. Pa. 64 Corvette Racing: T. Milner, N. Tandy, A. Sims
  5. Pa. 51 AF Corse: A. Pier Guidi, J. Calado, D. Serra
  6. Pa. 52 AF Corse: M. Molina, A. Fuoco, D. Rigon
  7. Pa. 74 Riley Motorsports: F. Fraga, S. Bird, S. Van Gisbergen

GTE is

  1. Pa. 98 Northwest AMR: P. Dalla Lana, D. Pittard, N. Thiim
  2. Pa. 57 Kessel Competition: T. Kimura, F. Schacherff, M. Jensen
  3. Pa. 54 AF Corse: T. Flohr, F. Castellacci, N. Cassidy
  4. Pa. 85 Iron Dames: R. Frey, M. Gatting, S. Bovy
  5. Pa. 77 Dempsey-Proton Racing: C. Ried, S. Priaulx, H. Tincknell
  6. Pa. 61 AF Corse: L. Prette, C. Grunewald, V. April
  7. Pa. Competition 86 GR: M. Wainwright, R. Pera, B. Barker
  8. Pa. 56 Team Project 1: B. Iribe, O. Millroy, B. Barnicoat
  9. Pa. 46 Team Project 1: M. Cairoli, M. Pedersen, N. Leutwiler
  10. Pa. 79 WeatherTech Racing: C. MacNeil, J. Andlauer, T. Merrill
  11. Pa. 99 Hardpoint Motorsport: A. Haryanto, A. Picariello, M. Rump
  12. Pa. 59 Starting Competition: A. West, C. Ledogar, M. Klein
  13. Pa. 21 AF Corse: S. Mann, C. Ulrich, T. Vilander
  14. Pa. 55 The Spirit of Competition: D. Cameron, M. Griffin, D. Perel
  15. Pa. 75 Iron Lynx: P. Ehret, C. Hook, N. Varrone
  16. Pa. 66 JMW Motorsport: R. van der Zande, M. Kvamme, J. Hart
  17. Pa. 777 D’Station Racing: S. Hoshino, T. Fuji, C. Fagg
  18. Pa. 88 Dempsey-Proton Racing: F. Poordad, M. Root, J. Heylen
  19. Pa. 33 TF Sport: B. Keating, H. Chaves, M. Sorensen
  20. Pa. 60 Iron Lynx: C. Shiavoni, A. Balzan, R. Giammaria
  21. Pa. 93 Proton competition: M. Fassbender, M. Campbell, Z. Robichon
  22. Pa. 80 Iron Lynx: M. Cressoni, G. Fisichella, R. Heitstand
  23. Pa. 71 The Spirit of Competition: F. Dezoteux, P. Ragues, G. Aubry

How to View 2022 24 Hours of Le Mans

In America, 24 Hours of Le Mans are available online Price of MotorTrend TV TV or MotorTrend + advertising program. Study begins Saturday, June 11 at 9:30 am ET, and you will be able to see how the flag is moving. If you are a subscriber to MotorTrend +, you will also be familiar with dashcam streams and other unique views throughout the competition.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.